New Japan Pro Wrestling’s Dontaku 2016 results: 05-03-16

New Japan Pro Wrestling held their big Wrestling Dontaku event yesterday and saw major changes in the company.

Yuji Nagata scored a big upset over NEVER Openweight Champion Katsuyori Shibata to become the new Champ, after Shibata looked to have a promising run. The former WCW talent Nagata turned 48-years old last month and is in his first reign as champion.

RicochetĀ and Matt Sydal regained the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Championships, so all those rumors of Ricochet leaving NJPW are false.


Bullet Club (Bad Luck Fale and Yujiro Takahashi) defeated Captain New Japan and Juice Robinson


CHAOS (Gedo, Kazushi Sakuraba, Will Ospreay and Yoshi-Hashi) defeated David Finlay, Jay White, Ryusuke Taguchi and Tiger Mask


IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Championship
Matt Sydal and Ricochet defeated Roppongi Vice (Beretta and Rocky Romero) (c) to become IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Championships


NEVER Openweight Six Man Tag Team Championships
The Elite (Kenny Omega, Matt Jackson and Nick Jackson) defeated Hiroshi Tanahashi, Michael Elgin and Yos–tatsu (c) to become NEVER Openweight Six Man Tag Team Champions


IWGP Tag Team Championships
Guerrillas of Destiny (Tama Tonga and Tanga Roa) (c) defeated G.B.H. (Togi Makabe and Tomoaki Honma) to retain the IWGP Tag Team Championships


NEVER Openweight Championship
Yuji Nagata defeated Katsuyori Shibata (c) to become NEVER Openweight Champion


IWGP Junior Heavyweight Championship
Kushida (c) defeated Jushin Thunder Liger to retain the championship


Evil defeated Hirooki Goto


Kazuchika Okada (with Gedo) defeated Sanada


IWGP Heavyweight Championship
Tetsuya Naito (c) (with Bushi and Evil) defeated Tomohiro Ishii (with Gedo and Kazuchika Okada) to retain the championship




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *